Expiration of vacation

The expiry of holidays is actually clearly regulated in the Federal Leave Act. In principle, leave must be granted and taken in the current calendar year. A transfer of the vacation to the next calendar year is possible only up to 31 March for operational or illness-related reasons. After the 31. March it expires finally.

However, there are two major exceptions.

Voluntary derogations in favour of the employee

The Federal Leave Act may be deviated from in favour of the employee. If the employer determines that the leave from the previous year may still be taken in the following year without there being a reason for the transfer, this benefits the employee. The vacation does not expire therefore in principle to the year end.

Expiry of leave: special regulations for permanently ill employees

The European Court of Justice (ECJ) ruled in the “Schultz-Hoff” case that in the event of permanent incapacity to work due to illness, the holiday may not expire on 31 March of the following year. However, since employees who are continuously incapacitated for work during the calendar year and the 3-month carry-over period do not actually have the opportunity to make use of their holiday entitlement, the expiration regulation is invalid in this case, as otherwise employees who are permanently incapacitated would be deprived of their entitlement to paid annual leave, which is incompatible with European law. According to the European Court of Justice, the holiday entitlement of a permanently ill employee must therefore be maintained.

Transfer period: 15 months instead of 3 months

In the subsequent “KHS” decision, the ECJ ruled that a worker who is continuously incapacitated for several years is not entitled to accumulate indefinitely all entitlements to paid annual leave acquired during the period of his absence from work. For this reason, the ECJ accepts national rules which require that leave entitlement expires after a carry-over period of 15 months.

In the case of termination of employment by notice or termination agreement, however, this case law can lead to comparatively high claims for holiday pay, as you can read here.

Implementation by the Federal Labour Court

The Federal Labour Court has transposed these decisions into national law. However, it has decided that the above-mentioned requirements of the ECJ only apply to the statutory minimum holiday of 24 working days or 20 working days, since the relevant European Directive also only prescribes a minimum annual holiday of 4 weeks.

Any further holiday entitlements can therefore continue to expire after the three-month transfer period has expired in the event of permanent illness of an employee. However, this must be expressly agreed in the employment contract. Otherwise, the additional leave also expires 15 months after the end of the calendar year.

Verfall von Urlaub

Der Verfall von Urlaub ist im Bundesurlaubsgesetz eigentlich klar geregelt. Der Urlaub muss grundsätzlich im laufenden Kalenderjahr gewährt und genommen werden. Eine Übertragung des Urlaubs auf das nächste Kalenderjahr ist nur bis zum 31. März aus betrieblichen oder krankheitsbedingten Gründen möglich. Nach dem 31. März verfällt er endgültig.

Doch es gibt zwei wesentliche Ausnahmen.

Freiwillige Abweichungen zugunsten des Arbeitnehmers

Zugunsten des Arbeitnehmers darf vom Bundesurlaubsgesetz abgewichen werden. Bestimmt der Arbeitgeber, dass der Urlaub aus dem Vorjahr auch noch im Folgejahr genommen werden darf ohne dass ein Grund für die Übertragung vorlag, begünstigt dies den Arbeitnehmer. Der Urlaub verfällt also nicht grundsätzlich zum Jahresende.

Verfall von Urlaub: Sonderregelungen für dauerkranke Mitarbeiter

Der Europäische Gerichtshof (EuGH) urteilte in dem Verfahren „Schultz-Hoff“, dass bei dauerhafter Arbeitsunfähigkeit wegen Krankheit der Urlaub nicht zum 31. März des Folgejahres verfallen darf. Da die Arbeitnehmer, die während des Kalenderjahres und des 3-monatigen Übertragungszeitraums durchgehend arbeitsunfähig erkrankt sind, jedoch tatsächlich nicht die Möglichkeit haben, von ihrem Urlaubsanspruch Gebrauch zu machen, ist die Verfallregelung in diesem Fall unwirksam, da andernfalls den dauerhaft erkrankten Arbeitnehmern der Anspruch auf den bezahlten Jahresurlaub entzogen würde, was mit Europarecht nicht vereinbar ist. Der Urlaubsanspruch muss laut EuGH einem dauerhaft erkrankten Arbeitnehmer also erhalten bleiben.

Übertragungszeitraum: 15 Monate statt 3 Monate

In der nachfolgenden Entscheidung „KHS“ hat der EuGH entschieden, dass ein Arbeitnehmer, der über mehrere Jahre hinweg durchgehend arbeitsunfähig erkrankt, nicht berechtigt ist, unbegrenzt alle während des Zeitraums seiner Abwesenheit von der Arbeit erworbenen Ansprüche auf bezahlten Jahresurlaub anzusammeln. Aus diesem Grund akzeptiert der EuGH nationale Regelungen, die vorschreiben, dass der Urlaubsanspruch nach Ablauf eines Übertragungszeitraums von 15 Monaten verfällt.

Im Fall der Beendigung des Arbeitsverhältnisses durch Kündigung oder Aufhebungsvertrag kann diese Rechtsprechung aber zu vergleichsweise hohen Ansprüchen auf Urlaubsabgeltung führen, wie Sie hier nachlesen können.

Umsetzung durch das Bundesarbeitsgericht

Das Bundesarbeitsgericht hat diese Entscheidungen in das nationale Recht umgesetzt. Allerdings hat es entschieden, dass die genannten Vorgaben des EuGH nur für den gesetzlichen Mindesturlaub von 24 Werktagen bzw. 20 Arbeitstagen gelten, da auch die einschlägige europäische Richtlinie nur einen Mindestjahresurlaub von 4 Wochen vorschreibt.

Darüber hinaus gehende Urlaubsansprüche können also weiterhin bei dauerhafter Erkrankung eines Arbeitnehmers nach Ablauf des dreimonatigen Übertragungszeitraums verfallen. Allerdings muss dies im Arbeitsvertrag ausdrücklich vereinbart sein. Ansonsten verfällt der Mehrurlaub auch erst 15 Monate nach Ende des Kalenderjahrs.