Vacation compensation

If the employment relationship ends and the employee’s holiday entitlement is not completely fulfilled, the employee is entitled to holiday compensation. This follows from Section 7 (4) of the Federal Leave Act (BUrlG) as well as from European law requirements. The reason for the termination is not substantial: It does not play a role whether the employer-employee relationship ends because of notice, limited time, termination agreement or pension entrance. Even if the employment relationship is terminated due to the death of the employee, his heirs can demand payment. The ECJ (C-118/13) decided this in the so-called “Gülay Bollacke-Judgement”.

Holiday compensation: calculation

Large amounts can quickly accumulate, as the following example illustrates.

The employee is entitled to 20 days’ leave per calendar year. He earns €2,500.00 gross per month and works from Monday to Friday. In 2014, 2015 and 2016, he was continuously unable to work and was therefore unable to take any leave. The employment relationship ended on 01.03.2016 due to retirement.

Vacation days:

20 days for 2014 (the entitlement for 2014 has not expired as you can read here) plus 20 days for 2015 plus 3.33 days (20 days * 2 months ./. 12 months) pro rata for 2016: 43.33 days

Daily earnings:

2.500,00 € * 3 months ./. 65 days (this formula is given by the law in § 11 BUrlG!) = 115,38 € gross

Result:

43,33 days * 115,38 € = 5.000,00 € gross

Observe short deadlines!

The entitlement to holiday compensation is subject to short deadlines. Often the claim must be made within only two or three months. Otherwise it expires. You should therefore act quickly if the employer does not make the payment immediately after termination of the employment relationship.

Urlaubsabgeltung

Endet das Arbeitsverhältnis und ist der Urlaubsanspruch des Arbeitnehmers nicht vollständig erfüllt, so besteht ein Anspruch auf Urlaubsabgeltung. Dies folgt aus § 7 Abs. 4 Bundesurlaubsgesetz (BUrlG) sowie aus europarechtlichen Vorgaben. Der Grund für die Beendigung ist dabei nicht wesentlich: Es spielt keine Rolle, ob das Arbeitsverhältnis wegen Kündigung, Befristung, Aufhebungsvertrag oder Renteneintritt endet. Auch wenn das Arbeitsverhältnis aufgrund des Todes des Arbeitnehmers beendet wird, können seine Erben die Zahlung verlangen. Der EuGH (C-118/13) hat dies in dem sogenannten „Gülay Bollacke-Urteil“ entschieden.

Urlaubsabgeltung: Berechnung

Es können schnell hohe Beträge zusammen kommen, wie folgendes Beispiel verdeutlicht.

Der Arbeitnehmer hat Anspruch auf 20 Tage Urlaub pro Kalenderjahr. Er verdient 2.500,00 € brutto pro Monat und arbeitet von Montag bis Freitag. In 2014, 2015 und 2016 war er durchgehend arbeitsunfähig krank und konnte daher keinen Urlaub nehmen. Das Arbeitsverhältnis endete zum 01.03.2016 durch Renteneintritt.

Urlaubstage:

20 Tage für 2014 (der Anspruch für 2014 ist nicht verfallen wie Sie hier nachlesen können) plus 20 Tage für 2015 plus 3,33 Tage (20 Tage * 2 Monate ./. 12 Monate) anteilig für 2016: 43,33 Tage

Täglicher Verdienst:

2.500,00 € * 3 Monate ./. 65 Tage (diese Formel gibt das Gesetz in § 11 BUrlG vor!) = 115,38 € brutto

Ergebnis:

43,33 Tage * 115,38 € = 5.000,00 € brutto

Kurze Fristen beachten!

Der Anspruch auf Urlaubsabgeltung unterliegt kurzen Fristen. Häufig muss der Anspruch innerhalb von nur zwei oder drei Monaten geltend gemacht werden. Ansonsten verfällt er. Daher sollten Sie schnell handeln, wenn der Arbeitgeber die Zahlung nicht unmittelbar nach Beendigung des Arbeitsverhältnisses leistet.